jenna

We are sitting at the table.
The coffee is thin but dense, like the membrane separating us between this tense, stifling awkwardness and the radiant, tumbling conversations we used to have.
Times were much simpler then.
We hadn’t seen the world yet.
Now, I look at you and I see Jenna, but I do not see you.
I do not remember us.
I do not remember our friendship and our jokes and our emotional tethers. how often did we cry?
I remember watching Youtube videos on the concrete slab under the tree.
I remember walking down the steps telling Selena about the vile nickname we had made up for her.
I remember the trampoline at your house and walking to get frozen yogurt.
But I do not remember you.
I do not remember us.
You represent a time of simplicity in my life. You were my stability when my legs couldn’t work.
I do not remember if you were there when i was grieving.
Were you at his funeral?
I do not remember if we even spoke after that.
But you are a beautiful soul.
A kind, gentle, open and loving soul.

Leave a Reply

